Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited

Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited.

What is my earliest memory?

Strange … I was about three.  Mother kept a pig which, from time to time, she scrubbed!  I don`t remember her actually scrubbing it but I do remember being sat on the newly-scrubbed pig`s back whilst a photograph was taken.

Now that too is strange because in the black and white photograph no-one is shown holding the pig but, come to think of it, she does have her snout on the ground so doubtless mother had given her something to eat to keep her still.

I am shown in the photograph with my dark, curly bobbed hair and smiling face looking at the camera.  I remember the dress I was wearing – my aunt (a Court dressmaker) made a lot of my clothes – I was very fortunate.  But, and here is the memory bit – the plaid material of the dress was coloured yellow, brown and cream with a  white Peter Pan collar and had little glass buttons down the front with small bumble-bees on them.  No way did the black and white photograph reveal those details.  Strange?  Or memory?

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited

  1. I read your challenge yesterday, made a like, because I really like it. Not everyone that sits on a pig’s but and did not even recognise that you were an old blogging friend from the past. Lovely to see you again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

